Class of 2021 scholarship awards and appointments

Congratulations to this year's class for their accomplishments!

We salute all PSD graduates for their hard work and resilience during what was a challenging year. The Class of 2021 has shown perseverance, adaptability and dedication to their learning whether it was remote, in-person or a combination of both. 

alt=""Notable districtwide academic achievements from this year's class:

  • Numerous scholarship awards from local organizations like the Rotary and Elks Clubs, Poudre Education Association, PSD Association of Classified Employees and Community Foundation scholarships. Thank you for supporting PSD graduates! 
  • Advanced Placement endorsed-diplomas - 164 students who have taken numerous AP courses and fulfilled the requirements for an AP-endorsed diploma 
  • International Baccalaureate graduates - 65 graduates who have earned an IB diploma through Poudre High School's program
  • Seal of Biliteracy diplomas - 243 graduates who are highly proficient in another language and earned the credential of having a Seal of Biliteracy on their diploma
  • Other endorsed diplomas - 65+ graduates have fulfilled the requirements in a specific area of focus to receive an endorsement on their diploma. Areas may include:
    • Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM)
    • Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID)
    • Biosciences Career Academy
    • Gifted and Talented Academy

Congratulations to these outstanding graduates who have excelled academically and earned prestigious scholarships and appointments.

U.S. Military Academy appointments and ROTC scholarships

  • Griffin Kiesecker, Liberty Common High School -  Air Force ROTC Scholarship
  • Rylie Durant, Rocky Mountain High School - U.S. Merchant Marines Academy
  • Matthew Kinerson, Rocky Mountain High School - U.S. Air Force Academy
  • Landon Coker, Fossil Ridge High School - West Point, U.S. Military Academy


Boettcher Foundation Scholarship

The Boettcher Scholarship, sponsored by the Denver-based Boettcher Foundation, is a merit-based scholarship available to Colorado graduating seniors who provide service to community and school, and are top students in their class, display leadership and demonstrate character. Only 42 scholarship are offered across the state. 

The four-year scholarship includes expenses to attend the Colorado school of the recipient’s choice: full tuition, fees, a book allowance and an annual stipend for living expenses. The scholarship also includes lifelong programming and support to ensure that students reach their full potential as community leaders. 

  • George Fang, Fort Collins High School 


Daniels Fund Scholarship

PSD seniors who have demonstrated strong character and a determination to succeed in life have been named Daniels Scholars and receive funding to attend the college or university of their choice. The Daniels Scholarship is a supplemental scholarship to all other financial resources, including the family contribution, available to the student. After other financial aid resources have been applied, the Daniels Scholarship covers the remaining expenses. Students also receive a laptop and printer. 

  • Shelby Sinclair, Poudre High School


National Hispanic Scholar

The College Board’s National Hispanic Recognition Program recognizes about 5,000 of the 250,000 Hispanic/Latino juniors who take college board tests. The recognition is an exceptional academic honor.

  • Anna Mellizo Kroll, Poudre High School
  • Matthew Kinerson, Rocky Mountain High School


National Merit Scholar Program

National Merit Scholars score in the top 1% academically. Three types of National Merit Scholarships are awarded: a one-time $2,500 award, a corporate-sponsored achievement scholarship or a college-sponsored merit scholarship. National Merit Scholars earn this elite designation through a two-year testing and application process. 

This list includes National Merit Scholar Finalists and Scholars: National Merit Scholars are selected from the finalists group. It is updated as high schools notify us of students selected.

  • Felix Yu, Fort Collins High School
  • Gabriel Hoyer, Liberty Common High School
  • Aimee Johnston, Liberty Common High School
  • Grace McCormick, Liberty Common High School
  • Sunny Taylor, Liberty Common High School
  • Gwen Wilusz, Liberty Common High School
  • Joaquin Fernandez Odell, Poudre High School
  • Makabe Aberly, Poudre High School
  • Chance Challacombe, Poudre High School
  • Davis Davalos-Delosh,  Poudre High School
  • Sarah Fanning,  Poudre High School
  • Colton Littlewood,  Poudre High School
  • Anna Mellizo Kroll,  Poudre High School
  • Ryan Saldanha,  Poudre High School
  • Isabella White,  Poudre High School
  • Maxwell Uphoff, Rocky Mountain High School
  • Natalie AmRhein, Rocky Mountain High School