Board of Education Election

2017 School Board Director Candidate Election

The regular biennial school board election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 7, 2017. This year’s coordinated election will be an all-mail ballot election. However, there will be Voter Service and Polling Center locations open eight days prior to and including Election Day. More information is available at the Larimer County Elections website.

Poudre School District (PSD) has established a director district plan of representation. All school directors are voted on at large (i.e. - eligible electors of the school district vote for one candidate from each director district). Three directors will be elected at the November 2017 election.

Directors with terms expiring are:


Current Director


C ( C map)

David Trask

4 year

D (D map)

Christophe Febvre

4 year

E (E map)

Carolyn Reed

4 year


Serving as a PSD Board of Education Director is a volunteer position. Board of Education Directors serve four-year terms. Meetings are generally held on the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month. The meeting on the second Tuesday is a full business meeting beginning with a dinner session usually beginning at 5:30 p.m. The meeting on the fourth Tuesday usually begins at 5:30 p.m. with a dinner session then a short business meeting at 6:30 p.m. followed by a work session. Traditionally, regular Board meetings are not held in the month of July. Board members also serve on one or more special committees that meet periodically throughout the school year.


Board Member Candidate Qualifications

Pursuant to Colorado State Statutes, a candidate for the office of school director:

  • Shall be a registered elector of Poudre School District for at least 12 consecutive months prior to the election;
  • Shall be a resident of the director district for which he or she is a candidate at the time of filing the notice of intention and supporting petition; and
  • Shall not have been convicted of, plead guilty or nolo contendere to, or received a deferred judgment and sentence for a sexual offense against a child.

Please note that candidate qualifications will be verified through the records of the Larimer County Clerk and Recorder. Background checks will be conducted.

Throughout the election period, candidates are required to fulfill filing/reporting obligations. See the timeline and the Secretary of State’s office for details. (Note: Fulfilling state filling requirements are the sole responsibility of the candidate)


Individual Candidate Information

C.R.S. 22-31-107 provides that school districts with more than 1,000 students post in a prominent area on the school district’s official website, an image of the written notice of intention by each candidate for school district director and their candidate contact information. Click on the candidate name to view the written notice of intention which includes contact information. As required, candidates are listed in alphabetical order by surname under the director district they are a candidate for.

District C
John Clarke
Kristen Draper

District D
Christophe Febvre

District E
Carolyn Reed


Contact Information

Board Secretary
Tessa Oppenheimer | 970.490.3607 |