PSD Board of Education appoints two new directors to vacant seats

Poudre School District’s Board of Education on Feb. 21, 2019, named the directors appointed to fill two vacant seats following interviews and community forums with the seven candidates who applied.

D.J. Anderson was named the new director of District A, which encompasses constituents in the south-central area of the school district. Anderson replaces former Director Cathy Kipp, who resigned earlier this year after being elected to fill the vacancy left by State Sen. Joann Ginal to represent House District 52 in the Colorado Legislature.

Naomi Johnson will serve as the new director of District G, representing people in the central portion of Fort Collins. Johnson will take the place of former Director Susan Gutowsky, who left the PSD Board after recently being selected to replace outgoing Council member Bob Overbeck on the Fort Collins City Council.  

Both directors are expected to take their oaths of office during the Feb. 26 Board of Education meeting. Board meetings are public and held in the PSD boardroom at the Johannsen Support Services Center, 2407 Laporte Ave.

Anderson and Johnson were appointed to complete the remainder of the current terms of the Director A and G positions, respectively. They will serve until the successful candidates for each director position are elected in November 2019. Both Anderson and Johnson have the option to run in the 2019 election.

The two appointments bring the Board back up to its seven-member total. 

The Board of Education is an elected body that sets policy and governance for PSD, which educates about 30,000 students throughout the district's roughly 1,800-square-miles in Northern Colorado, including Fort Collins, Laporte, Timnath, Wellington, Red Feather, Livermore, Stove Prairie, and parts of Windsor. Directors are volunteers who serve on the Board without pay.