Class of 2023 scholarships and academic accomplishments


This year's class has achieved!

We recognize the Class of 2023 for their hard work and dedication to their academics and extracurricular activities. They have excelled in high school. 

Noteworthy districtwide academic achievements from this year's class:

  • Numerous scholarship awards from local organizations like the Rotary and Elks Clubs, Poudre Education Association, PSD Association of Classified Employees and Community Foundation scholarships. Thank you for supporting PSD graduates! 
  • Advanced Placement endorsed-diplomas104 students who have taken numerous AP courses and fulfilled the requirements for an AP-endorsed diploma 
  • International Baccalaureate graduates53 graduates are candidates for an IB diploma through Poudre High School's program
  • Seal of Biliteracy diplomas - 234 graduates who are highly proficient in another language and earned the credential of having a Seal of Biliteracy on their diploma
  • Other endorsed diplomas300+ graduates have fulfilled the requirements in a specific area of focus to receive an endorsement on their diploma. Areas may include:
    • Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM)
    • Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID)
    • Biosciences Career Academy
    • Gifted and Talented Academy
    • PSD Endorsement of Academic Merit

Congratulations to these outstanding graduates who have excelled academically and earned prestigious scholarships and appointments.

U.S. Academy Appointments and ROTC Scholarships

  • Kitson Cole Broadbelt, Fort Collins High School, ROTC scholarship
  • Alice Canonico, Fossil Ridge High School, ROTC scholarship
  • Bryce Olson, Fossil Ridge High School, U.S. Air Force Academy
  • Grant Samuelson, Fossil Ridge High School, U.S. Air Force Academy
  • Hunter Lipsey, LIberty Common High School, offered U.S. Military Academy and U.S. Coast Guard Academy appointments
  • B. Spencer Lynch, Liberty Common High School, U.S. Military Academy
  • Jacob Wilde, Liberty Common High School, ROTC Scholarship at the University of Notre Dame 
  • Derek Luther, Rocky Mountain High School, ROTC scholarship
  • Robert Weber, Rocky Mountain High School, ROTC scholarship

See photos on Facebook from the PSD Armed Forces Day celebration held recently in May. 


Boettcher Foundation Scholarship

The Boettcher Scholarship is a scholarship available to graduating seniors who provide service to community and school, and are top students in their class, display leadership and demonstrate character. Only 42 scholarships are offered across Colorado. 

The four-year scholarship pays full expenses to attend the Colorado school of the recipient’s choice. The scholarship also includes lifelong programming and support to ensure students reach their full potential as community leaders. 

  • Kerem Gurkan, Fossil Ridge High School


Daniels Fund Scholarship

Daniels scholars are seniors who have demonstrated strong character and a determination to succeed in life. Scholars receive funding to attend the college or university of their choice. The scholarship is supplemental to other financial resources available to the student, covering remaining expenses after other financial resources have been applied.

  • Zane Kondratieff, Fossil Ridge High School 
  • Mason Sanfilippo, Liberty Common High School


National Hispanic Scholar

The College Board’s National Hispanic Recognition Program recognizes about 5,000 of the 250,000 Hispanic/Latino juniors who take college board tests. The recognition is an exceptional academic honor.

  • Benjamin Kosacz, Fossil Ridge High School
  • Kylie Perez, Fossil Ridge High School
  • Liana Rodriguez, Fossil Ridge High School
  • Pietra Colacrai Arikita, Fossil Ridge High School
  • Ana Meschievitz-Roman, Poudre High School
  • Daniel Gutierrez, Poudre High School
  • Pablo Kulisheck-Lopez, Poudre High School
  • Sophia Bennett, Poudre High School
  • Sophia Rose Kirby, Poudre High School
  • Kolbe Alonzo, Rocky Mountain High School  
  • Oneida Lepe, Rocky Mountain High School
  • Caleb Bischof, Rocky Mountain High School
  • Grace Colip, Rocky Mountain High School
  • Benito MacEachran, Rocky Mountain High School
  • Timothy  Fischer, Rocky Mountain High School
  • Robert Fuerte, Rocky Mountain High School
  • Ahnika Torres, Rocky Mountain High School 
  • David Dean Tostes-Ribeiro McLaughlin, Rocky Mountain High School       
  • Jude ODaniel, Rocky Mountain High School
  • Laura Sanchez Unda, Rocky Mountain High School  


National Merit Scholar Program

National Merit Scholars score in the top 1% academically. Three National Merit Scholarships are awarded: a one-time $2,500 award, a corporate-sponsored achievement scholarship or a college-sponsored merit scholarship. National Merit Scholars earn this elite designation through a two-year testing and application process. 

This list includes National Merit Scholar Finalists and Scholars: National Merit Scholars are selected from the finalists group. It is updated as high schools notify us of students selected.

  • Jack Carpenter, Fort Collins High School
  • Rahul Ghosh, Fossil Ridge High School
  • Henry Johnston, Poudre High School
  • Annika Beighey, Poudre High School 
  • Auden Fremstad, Poudre High School 
  • Theo Kuehn, Poudre High School 
  • Parker Volesky, Poudre High School 
  • Alden Vieira, Rocky Mountain High School


More Notable Scholarships By School

  • Centennial High School graduates: 
    • Amris Fernandez, Poudre Association of School Executives Scholarship
    • Lizbeth Fuentes Zamora, Poudre Retired School Employees Association and Poudre Association of School Executives Scholarship
    • Ramon Hernandez, Poudre Retired School Employees Association and Poudre Association of School Executives Scholarships
    • Christian Lopez, Poudre Retired School Employees Association Scholarship
    • Reagan Richardson, Elks Vocational Scholarship


  • Fort Collins High School graduates: 
    • Bryn Erickson, Quest Bridge Scholarship


  • Fossil Ridge High School graduates:
    • Sophie Wang, Coca Cola Scholarship


  • Poudre High School graduates:
    • Bianka Kodrich Saavedra, Amazon Future Engineer Scholar 
    • Kira Osborne, Poudre High School, National Indigenous Award
    • Phoenix Wall, Poudre High School, National Indigenous Award


  • Rocky Mountain High School graduates (scholarships for academics, arts, leadership or service):
    • Owen Geiss, full-tuition scholarship
    • Zoe Glenn, full-tuition scholarship
    • Morgan Roscoe, full-tuition scholarship
    • Arya Shaffe, full-tuition scholarship
    • Riley Stone, full-tuition scholarship