PSD Honors and Awards

State and National Excellence Recognitions

Students achieve academically and with activities 

See the latest student accomplishments here. 

Within the past two years:

  • 9 students were selected as Boettcher Scholars
  • 5 students were selected as Daniels Fund Scholars
  • 29 students were selected as National Merit Scholar Finalists
  • 4 students were selected as National Hispanic Recognition Scholars
  • 1 student was selected as a Presidential Scholar
  • Numerous students became state champions in science, history, and knowledge bowls, as well as in speech, debate, theater, and music
  • Several student athletes became state champions in track and field, swimming, baseball, wrestling, golf, tennis, cheerleading and marching band.


PSD state and national awards 

Visit the Board Recognitions web page to see video clips of recognitions for outstanding accomplishments. 

  • Five PSD schools named U.S.D.E. National Blue Ribbon schools for their high achievement among students.
  • Three PSD schools designated U.S.D.E. National Green Ribbon schools for their commitment to health and sustainability.
  • Four PSD schools named a "Trailblazer School to Watch" by  the Colorado Association of Middle Level Education for academic excellence, developmental responsiveness, social equity and organizational structure and processes.
  • PSD has been named a Gold Leader each year since 2009 for district sustainability accomplishments.
  • 2019 Dale Yost Teacher and Coach of the Year (Colorado High School Coaches Association): Conrad Crist, FCHS teacher and coach
  • 2019 Colorado 5A Cross Country Ski Coach of the Year - Coach Kyle Steitz
  • 2019 Outstanding New Family and Consumer Sciences Professional - Ashley Acuff, FCHS teacher
  • 2018 5A Boys Golf CHSSA Coaches of the Year: Andy Stevens and Jamie Menefee, Fossil Ridge HS coaches
  • 2018 Reba Ferguson Memorial Administrator Rookie of the Year award (Colorado Association of School Executives): Alissa Poduska, Shepardson Elementary principal.
  • 2018 Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership (national award) - Aisha Thomas, Zach Elementary principal
  • 2018 SHAPE Administrator of the Year (Society of Health and Physical Educators): Tom Dodd, Lesher Middle School principal.
  • 2017 Outstanding Teacher of the Year (Colorado Council of Teachers of Mathematics): Chris Suppes, FCHS math teacher
  • 2017 Educational Leader of the Year (Colorado Association of Bilingual Education): Daniel Gallegos, of the PSD Language, Culture and Equity Department
  • 2017 National School Principal of the Year and 2016  Colorado School Principal of the Year - Tom Dodd, Lesher Middle School principal 
  • 2017 Athletic Director of the Year (Colorado Athletics Directors Association) - Wayne Moddelmog, Rocky Mountain High School Athletic Director, was named
  • 2017 National School Counselor of the Year finalist (American School Counselors Association) and 2016 Colorado Counselor of the Year (Colorado School Counseling Association) - Cassie Poncelow, Poudre High School counselor


2018 CDE school academic excellence awards

CDE Office of Family-School Partnerships gave special recognition to PSD Language, Culture and Equity Family Liaisons for their "promising practices."

John Irwin Schools of Excellence Award for schools that demonstrate excellent academic achievement. On the school performance framework used by the state to evaluate schools, these schools exceed expectations on the indicator for academic achievement over three years. 
•    Bacon Elementary
•    Bennett Elementary
•    Bethke Elementary
•    Dunn Elementary
•    Fossil Ridge High School
•    Kinard Core Knowledge Middle School
•    Kruse Elementary
•    Liberty Common Elementary 
•    Liberty Common High School
•    Livermore Elementary
•    McGraw Elementary
•    PSD Global Academy
•    Tavelli Elementary
•    Traut Core Knowledge Elementary
•    Werner Elementary
•    Zach Elementary

High School Academic Growth Award –  Liberty Common High School for showing high levels of students’ academic growth in state assessments. 

Governor’s Distinguished Improvement Awards for schools that demonstrate excellent student growth. On the school performance framework used by the state to evaluate schools, these schools exceed expectations on the indicator related to longitudinal academic growth over three years.
•    Harris Bilingual Elementary
•    Livermore Elementary, 
•    Red Feather Lakes Elementary
•    Traut Core Knowledge Elementary

Colorado Centers of Excellence Award for schools with the highest rates of student growth in schools in which at least 75 percent of students are considered at-risk - Putnam Elementary (one of just 15 schools in the state to receive this award).