Board of Education Recognitions

Most current recognition is posted at the top. 

2023-24 Outstanding Accomplishments

September 2023


2022-23 Outstanding Accomplishments

May 2023

April 2023

March 2023

February 2023

January 2023


December 2022

  • Fossil Ridge High School Marching Band State Champions
  • Cross Country State Champion


November 2022


October 2022 - Those invited could not attend.


September 2022

  • Community support for school supplies for PSD students (CSU School is Cool and OtterCares Pack2School programs)


2021-22 School Year

Recognitions are posted with the most current at the top. Please note that due to COVID, there were no recognitions August through October.  

June 2022

Athletic recognitions

  • Track and Field -  Individual state champions

    Brooke Naughton (FCHS)
    Long Jump
    Triple Jump
    High Jumpp

    Rhys Travis (PHS)
    Triple Jump

    Dontay Johnson (FCHS)
    Long Jump

    Kevin Buxvoort (RMHS)

    Laura Davis (FCHS)
    Shot Put

  • Boys Swim & Dive -  Individual state champions

    Jack Ballard (FCHS)
    500 Freestyle
    200 Freestyle

    Carter Ruthven (FRHS)
    100 Butterfly

  • Poudre High School girls tennis team presented the "Sportsmanship" award at the end of the state tournament in May 2022

May 2022

  • Community partners:
    • Larimer County Work-Based Learning Alliance
    • Fort Collins Area Chamber of Commerce
  • Students:
    • Preston Science Olympiad Team
    • Fossil Ridge High School Science Olympiad Team
    • Fossil Ridge High School Knowledge Bowl Team


April 2022

  • Fossil Ridge High School girls swim athletes state champions
    • 5A 400 Yd Free Relay - Renee Gillilan, Sydnee O'Neil,  Kenadie Glasgow, Lucy Bell 
    • 5A 100 Yd Free - Lucy Bell 
    • 5A 100 Yd Butterfly - Renee Gillilan 
    • 5A 200 Yd IM - Lucy Bell  
  • Colorado State University Athletics for support of PSD students


March 2022 - Those invited were not able to attend. 

February 2022

  • PSD music ensembles selected to perform for the Colorado Music Educators Association 2022 conference.
  • Cale Whicker selected as the 2022 Colorado Assistant Elementary School Principal of the Year.
  • Every Child Pediatrics for their school health centers and support of PSD students and families. 


January 2022

  • Rocky Mountain High School eSports teams -  Colorado state champions (competitive video gaming)
  • United Way for supporting PSD students and families
  • Bennett Elementary staff members Frances Anderson and Patrick Murray for lifesaving actions of a student



December 2021

  • OtterCares Foundation and Colorado State University for school supply donations.
  • Lesher Middle School teacher Matt Moeller, Colorado SHAPE Middle School Physical Education Teacher of the Year
  • Rocky Mountain High School teacher Dr. Yajaira Fuentes-Tauber, Colorado Association of Science Teachers 2021 AVS Teaching Award for Excellence in Secondary Science Education.
  • RMHS Freshman Jake McDill, Colorado state champion in the freshman mountain biking finals in Durango

November 2021

For the first time since the start of the pandemic, the PSD Board of Education re-commenced monthly recognitions of our incredible staff, students and community partners. What a treat to celebrate a host of incredible people. Those recognized include:

Colorado Hands and Voices 2021 Families First Award: McGraw Elementary teacher of the deaf Cathy Bowles

Colorado Council of Teachers of Mathematics excellence in teaching and leadership awards:

  • Teaching award - Kruse Elementary School teacher Emily Vangermeersh
  • Teaching award - Preston Middle School teacher Kathy Sampson
  • Leadership award – Poudre High School (Official) teacher Elissa Pitts
  • Teaching award – Olander School for Project Based Learning teacher Eryn Burge (was not able to attend, not pictured)

Community partner recognitions: PSD is so grateful to its many community partners who helped design and offer programming, increased access to education, solved difficult problems and worked together in service of students, as part of PSD’s 2021 summer programming. Students grew tremendously in math and literacy, data show, and we are so thankful to work alongside our many partners.

  • Boys & Girls Club of Larimer Co Admin Boys and Girls Club – Kaycee Headrick
  • The Matthews House – Nicole Armstrong and Lise Harwell
  • Canvas Credit Union – Gary Ozzello
  • AlphaBEST – Karissa Hutchison
  • Fort Collins Museum of Discovery – Laura Valdez and Laura Vilaret-Tuma
  • The Bohemian Foundation – Sara Maronowicz