District Accountability Committee

Applications for Open Seats

PSD's District Accountability Committee (DAC) is made up of parent and school representatives who work together to offer recommendations about the district's spending priorities, improvement plan, and charter schools to the PSD Board of Education. It also works to increase the level of parent engagement in the district. This important work is facilitated by a committee that is representative of the diversity of the district. The DAC is required by the Colorado Accountability Act.

The following DAC position/s are open:

  • A parent of a child participating in the early childhood education program

Those interested in serving on the DAC should contact PSD Chief Institutional Effectiveness Officer Dwayne Schmitz at 970-490-3693 or dschmitz@psdschools.org.


2022-23 School Year Meetings

The committee meets once per month, typically on the third Wednesday, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., in the board room at the Johannsen Support Services Center, 2407 LaPorte Ave.

Meeting agendas and minutes are posted below when they are available. 

  • Jan. 25, 2023 agenda
    • Jan. 25 minutes
  • Feb. 22, 2023 agenda
    • Feb. 22 minutes
  • March 22, 2023 agenda
    • March 22 minutes
  • April 19, 2023 agenda
    • April 19 minutes
  • May 17, 2023 agenda
    • May 17 minutes


DAC Responsibilities

  • Recommending to its local school board priorities for spending school district monies
  • Submitting recommendations to the local school board concerning preparation of the district's Performance, Improvement, Priority Improvement or Turnaround plan (whichever is applicable)
  • Reviewing any charter school applications received by the local school board and, if the local school board receives a charter school renewal application and upon request of the district and at the DAC's option, reviewing any renewal application prior to consideration by the local school board
  • At least annually, cooperatively determining, with the local school board, the areas and issues, in addition to budget issues, that the DAC shall study and make recommendations upon
  • At its option, meeting at least quarterly to discuss whether district leadership, personnel, and infrastructure are advancing or impeding implementation of the district's performance, improvement, priority improvement, or turnaround plan, whichever is applicable
  • Providing input and recommendations to principals, on an advisory basis, concerning the development and use of assessment tools to measure and evaluate student academic growth as it relates to teacher evaluations

When the DAC recommends spending priorities, it must make reasonable efforts to consult in a substantive manner with the School Accountability Committees (SACs) in the district. Likewise, in preparing recommendations for and advising on the district plan, the DAC must make reasonable efforts to consult in a substantive manner with the SACs in the district and must submit to the local school board the school performance, improvement, priority improvement and turnaround plans submitted by the SACs.


DAC Members

Each local Board of Education is responsible for either appointing or creating a process for electing the members of a DAC. This committee must consist of the following:

  • At least three parents of students enrolled in the district
  • At least one teacher employed by the district
  • At least one school administrator employed by the district
  • At least one person involved in business in the community within the district boundaries.

2022-23 school year representatives

PSD employee representatives:

  • Kathy Mackay - Secondary Administrator
  • Nikki Arensmeier - Early Childhood Staff
  • Norma Huerta-Kelley - Elementary Administrator
  • Marcy Lewis - PSD Teacher
  • Becky Woodcox - Instructional Para-Professional

PSD family representatives:

  • Michael Werner - District Advisory Board (DAB) Liaison
  • Jennifer Jung - Parent of a student with a disability
  • Katie Cook - Parent of a Gifted and Talented student
  • Ian Rutherford - Parent of a Charter School student
  • Scott Schoenbauer - Business Community
  • Araceli Newman - Parent of an English Language Learner
  • Susan Sasson - Parent of a Minority/Diverse student
  • TBD - Parent of an Early Childhood student
  • Jennifer Keeton - Parent of an Elementary School student
  • Erica Daniell - Parent of a Middle School student
  • Angela Lindquist - Parent of a High School student

PSD support and liaisons:

  • Dwayne Schmitz - DAC Co-chair & PSD Cabinet Liaison 
  • Jessica Zamora- BOE Liaison
  • Clare Barquero - Family Engagement Liaison
  • Aloha Arceo-Apitz - Translator
  • Michele Lae - Recorder


Past years

2021-22 meeting agendas and minutes