Colorado Math Standards

Colorado Academic Standards Mathematics

The Colorado Academic Standards Mathematics, as developed by the Colorado Department of Education were revised in 2010.

The standards include:

  1. Number Sense, Properties, and Operations
  2. Patterns, Functions, and Algebraic Structures
  3. Data Analysis, Statistics, and Probability
  4. Shape, Dimension, and Geometric Relationships

The standards are then broken down by Grade Level Expectations (GLE), approximately seven per grade level (K-8) with 14 for high school. The standards also address 21st century and postsecondary workforce readiness skills, as well as the integration of Personal Financial Literacy (PFL) indicators. The standards are designed to build upon themselves, creating a vertical articulation among the grade levels.

Elementary School Middle School High School
Preschool and Kindergarten
Word | PDF
6th Grade
Word | PDF
High School
Word | PDF
1st Grade
Word | PDF
7th Grade
Word | PDF
2nd Grade
Word | PDF
8th Grade
Word | PDF
3rd Grade
Word | PDF
4th Grade
Word | PDF
5th Grade
Word | PDF


Common Core State Standards Mathematics

Contained within the Colorado Academic Standards are the Common Core State Standards Mathematics (CCSSM). The standards were drafted by experts and teachers from across the country to establish clear and consistent guidelines for what every student should know and be able to do. The Common Core State Standards Initiative has developed What Parents Should Know for further information about the development of the standards. The CCSSM calls for a shift in practice. The Publisher's Criteria K-8 and High School outlines the shift in practice breaking down and explaining focuscoherence, and the three elements of rigorconceptual understanding, procedural skill and fluency, and application.

The standards are broken into eleven domains:

  1. Counting & Cardinality
  2. Operations & Algebraic Thinking
  3. Numbers & Operations in Base Ten
  4. Numbers & Operations - Fractions
  5. Measurement & Data
  6. Geometry
  7. Ratios & Proportional Relationships
  8. The Number System
  9. Expressions & Equations
  10. Functions
  11. Statistics & Probability 

At the high school, there are  six conceptual categories, listed below, with subdomains, vertically culminating from the eleven present at the elementary and middle school levels.

Elementary School Middle School High School
    By Conceptual Category
Kindergarten 6th Grade Number and Quantity
1st Grade 7th Grade Algebra
2nd Grade 8th Grade Functions
3rd Grade   Modeling
4th Grade   Geometry
5th Grade   Statistics & Probability
    By Course
    Algebra 1 (Appendix A: p 15-26)
    Geometry (Appendix A: p 27-35)
    Algebra 2 (Appendix A: p 36-43)











In addition to the standards, the Common Core State Standards Initiative developed the Standards for Mathematical Practice. The Standards for Mathematical Practice are a standard for developing students.

  1. Make sense of problems and persevere in solving them.
  2. Reason abstractly and quantitatively.
  3. Construct viable arguments and critique the reasoning of others.
  4. Model with mathematics.
  5. Use appropriate tools strategically.
  6. Attend to precision.
  7. Look for and make use of structure.
  8. Look for an express regularity in repeated reasoning.